Section 120.60

CHAPTER 74-310

Section 1. Chapter 120, Florida Statutes, consisting of sections 120.50, 120.51, 120.52, 120.53, 120.54, 120.55, 120.56, 120.57, 120.58, 120.59, 120.60, 120.61, 120.62, 120.63, 120.64, 120.65, 120.66, 120.68, 120.69, 120.70, and 120.71, is created to read:

Section 120.60 is created to read:

120.60 Licensing.--

- (1) Unless otherwise provided by statute enacted subsequent to the effective date of this act, licensing is subject to the provisions of s. 120.57.
- (2) When an application for a license is made as required by law, the agency shall conduct the proceedings required with reasonable dispatch and with due regard to the rights and privileges of all affected parties or aggrieved persons. Each agency upon issuing or denying a license shall state with particularity the grounds or basis for the issuance or denial of same, except where issuance is a ministerial act. On denial of a license application on which there has been no hearing, the denying agency shall inform the applicant of any right to a hearing pursuant to s. 120.57.
- (3) When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for the renewal of a license which does not automatically expire by statute, the existing license shall not expire until the application has been finally acted upon by the agency [or], in case the application is denied or the terms of the license limited, until the last day for seeking review of the agency order or a later date fixed by order of the renewing court.
- (4) No revocation, suspension, annulment or withdrawal of any license is lawful unless, prior to the institution of agency proceedings, the agency has given reasonable notice by certified mail to the licensee of facts or conduct which warrant the intended action, and the licensee has been given an opportunity to show that he has complied with all lawful requirements for the retention of the license.
- (5) If the agency finds that immediate serious danger to the public health, safety, or welfare requires emergency suspension of a license, it shall show compliance in its order with the requirements imposed by subsection 120.54(9) on agencies making emergency rules. Summary suspension may be ordered, but a formal suspension or revocation proceeding under this section shall also be promptly instituted and acted upon.

CHAPTER 76-131

Section 10. Subsection (2) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, is amended, and subsection (6) is added to section 120.60, Florida Statutes, to read:

120.60 Licensing .--

- (2) When an application for a license is made as required by law, the agency shall conduct the proceedings required with reasonable dispatch and with due regard to the rights and privileges of all affected parties or aggrieved persons. Within 30 days after receipt of an application for a license, the agency shall examine the application, notify the applicant of any apparent errors or omissions, and request any additional information the agency is permitted by law to require. Failure to correct an error or omission or to supply additional information shall not be grounds for denial of the license unless the agency timely notified the applicant within this 30 day period. The agency shall notify the applicant if the activity for which he seeks a license is exempt from the licensing requirement and return any tendered application fee within 30 days after receipt of the original application or within 10 days after receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Every application for license shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of the original application or receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Any application for a license not approved or denied within the 90-day period or within 15 days after conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, or within 45 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, whichever is latest, shall be deemed approved and, subject to the satisfactory completion of an examination, if required as a prerequisite to licensure, [the license] shall be issued. The Public Service Commission, when issuing a license, and any other agency, if specifically exempted by law, shall be exempt from the time limitations within this subsection. Each agency upon issuing or denying a license, shall state with particularity the grounds or basis for the issuance or denial of same, except where issuance is a ministerial act. On denial of a license application on which there has been no hearing, the denying agency shall inform the applicant of any right to a hearing pursuant to s. 120.57.
- (6) If the Administration Commission grants an exemption from any provision of this section as provided in s. 120.63, the exemption shall be for a single application only and shall not be renewable.

CHAPTER 77-174

Section 1.

120.60 Licensing.--

(2) When an application for a license is made as required by law, the agency shall conduct the proceedings required with reasonable dispatch and with due regard to the rights and privileges of all affected parties or aggrieved persons. Within 30 days after receipt of an application for a license, the agency shall examine the application, notify the applicant of any

apparent errors or omissions, and request any additional information the agency is permitted by law to require. Failure to correct an error or omission or to supply additional information shall not be grounds for denial of the license unless the agency timely notified the applicant within this 30 day period. The agency shall notify the applicant if the activity for which he seeks a license is exempt from the licensing requirement and return any tendered application fee within 30 days after receipt of the original application or within 10 days after receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Every application for license shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of the original application or receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. The 90-day period shall be tolled by the initiation of a proceeding under s. 120.57 and shall resume 10 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties. Any application for a license not approved or denied within the 90-day period or within 15 days after conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, or within 45 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, whichever is latest, shall be deemed approved and, subject to the satisfactory completion of an examination, if required as a prerequisite to licensure, the license shall be issued. The Public Service Commission, when issuing a license, and any other agency, if specifically exempted by law, shall be exempt from the time limitations within this subsection. Each agency upon issuing or denying a license, shall state with particularity the grounds or basis for the issuance or denial of same, except where issuance is a ministerial act. On denial of a license application on which there has been no hearing, the denying agency shall inform the applicant of any right to a hearing pursuant to s. 120.57.

- (3) When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for the renewal of a license which does not automatically expire by statute, the existing license shall not expire until the application has been finally acted upon by the agency or and, in case the application is denied or the terms of the license limited, until the last day for seeking review of the agency order or a later date fixed by order of the renewing court.
- (5) If the agency finds that immediate serious danger to the public health, safety, or welfare requires emergency suspension of a license, it shall show compliance in its order with the requirements imposed by subsection 120.54(9)(8) on agencies making emergency rules. Summary suspension may be ordered, but a formal suspension or revocation proceeding under this section shall also be promptly instituted and acted upon.

CHAPTER 77-453

Section 6. Subsections (2) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, 1976 Supplement, is amended, a new subsection (3) is created, subsection (3) is renumbered (5), and subsections (5) and (6) are renumbered subsections (6) and (7) and a new subsection (8) is created to read:

(2) When an application for a license is made as required by law, the agency shall conduct the proceedings required with reasonable dispatch and with due regard to the rights and privileges of all affected parties or aggrieved persons. Within 30 days after receipt of an application for a license, the agency shall examine the application, notify the applicant of any apparent errors or omissions, and request any additional information the agency is permitted by

law to require. Failure to correct an error or omission or to supply additional information shall not be grounds for denial of the license unless the agency timely notified the applicant within this 30 day period. The agency shall notify the applicant if the activity for which he seeks a license is exempt from the licensing requirement and return any tendered application fee within 30 days after receipt of the original application or within 10 days after receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Every application for license shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of the original application or receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. The 90-day period shall be tolled by the initiation of a proceeding under s. 120.57 and shall resume 10 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties. Any application for a license not approved or denied within the 90-day period or within 15 days after conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, or within 45 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, whichever is latest, shall be deemed approved and, subject to the satisfactory completion of an examination, if required as a prerequisite to licensure, [the license] shall be issued. The Public Service Commission, when issuing a license, and any other agency, if specifically exempted by law, shall be exempt from the time limitations within this subsection. Each agency upon issuing or denying a license, shall state with particularity the grounds or basis for the issuance or denial of same, except where issuance is a ministerial act. On denial of a license application on which there has been no hearing, the denying agency shall inform the applicant of any right to a hearing pursuant to s. 120.57.

- (3) <u>Unless otherwise specified in this subsection, proceedings for licensing or for approving mergers pursuant to title XXXVI and title XXXVII, Florida Statutes, shall not be subject to sections 120.57(1) and 120.58, Florida Statutes.</u>
- (a) In cases to which this subsection is applicable, the agency shall adopt rules of procedure which will require:
- 1. The publication of notice within 21 days of receipt of application in the Florida Administrative Weekly;
- 2. That within 21 days of publication of notice, any person may request a public hearing as provided by agency rule;
- 3. That upon the timely asserted request of any party the person presiding at the hearing shall swear witnesses and take testimony under oath, and permit the parties to conduct cross-examination.
- 4. That the record shall contain those items specified in s. 120.57(1)(b)(5), Florida Statutes.
- 5. That the agency shall accurately and completely preserve all testimony and evidence and, on the request of any person, it shall make a full or partial transcript available at no more than cost.
 - (b) Review of the final agency order shall be in accordance with section 120.68, Florida

Statutes.

- (c) Notwithstanding subsection (2) above, every application for license for a new bank, new trust company, new credit union, or new savings and loan association shall be approved or denied within 180 days after receipt of the original application or receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Any application for such a license not approved or denied within the 180-day period or within 30 days after the conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, whichever is latest, shall be deemed approved subject to the satisfactory completion of conditions required by statute as a prerequisite to license and approval of insurance of accounts by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation for a new bank, and by the Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation for a new savings and loan association.
- (3)(4) When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for the renewal of a license which does not automatically expire by statute, the existing license shall not expire until the application has been finally acted upon by the agency [or], in case the application is denied or the terms of the license limited, until the last day for seeking review of the agency order or a later date fixed by order of the renewing court.
- (4)(5) No revocation, suspension, annulment, or withdrawal of any license is lawful unless, prior to the institution of agency proceedings, the agency has given reasonable notice by certified mail or actual service to the licensee of facts or conduct which warrant the intended action and the licensee has been given an opportunity to show that he has complied with all lawful requirements for the retention of the license.
- (5)(6) If the agency finds that immediate serious danger to the public health, safety, or welfare requires emergency suspension of a license, it shall show compliance in its order with the requirements imposed by subsection 120.54(9) on agencies making emergency rules. Summary suspension may be ordered, but a formal suspension or revocation proceeding under this section shall also be promptly instituted and acted upon.
- (6)(7) If the Administration Commission grants an exemption from any provision of this section as provided in s. 120.63, the exemption shall be for a single application only and shall not be renewable.
- (8) This section shall not apply to certification of employee organizations pursuant to s. 447.307.

Section 7 This act shall not apply to any contested application which has been referred to the Division of Administrative Hearings by the agency on the effective date of this act, nor shall the time limit for automatic approval contained in paragraph (c) of section 120.60(3), Florida Statutes, as created by this act begin until the effective date of this act for those new bank, trust company, savings and loan or credit union applications which were on file with the department on the effective date of this act.

Section 9 This act shall take effect upon becoming a law, and the provisions of s. 120.60(3),

Florida Statutes, as created by this act shall be void and inoperative on June 30, 1978.

CHAPTER 78-95

Section 57. Sections 120.60(2) and 120.72(1). Florida Statutes, relating to general provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, are amended to read:

120.60 Licensing.--

When an application for a license is made as required by law, the agency shall conduct (2) the proceedings required with reasonable dispatch and with due regard to the rights and privileges of all affected parties or aggrieved persons. Within 30 days after receipt of an application for a license, the agency shall examine the application, notify the applicant of any apparent errors or omissions, and request any additional information the agency is permitted by law to require. Failure to correct an error or omission or to supply additional information shall not be grounds for denial of the license unless the agency timely notified the applicant within this 30 day period. The agency shall notify the applicant if the activity for which he seeks a license is exempt from the licensing requirement and return any tendered application fee within 30 days after receipt of the original application or within 10 days after receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Every application for license shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of the original application or receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions unless a shorter period of time for agency action is provided by law. The 90-day or shorter time period shall be tolled by the initiation of a proceeding under s. 120.57 and shall resume 10 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties. Any application for a license not approved or denied within the 90-day or shorter time period or within 15 days after conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, or within 45 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, whichever is latest, shall be deemed approved and, subject to the satisfactory completion of an examination, if required as a prerequisite to licensure, [the license] shall be issued. The Public Service Commission, when issuing a license, and any other agency, if specifically exempted by law, shall be exempt from the time limitations within this subsection. Each agency upon issuing or denying a license, shall state with particularity the grounds or basis for the issuance or denial of same, except where issuance is a ministerial act. On denial of a license application on which there has been no hearing, the denying agency shall inform the applicant of any right to a hearing pursuant to s. 120.57.

CHAPTER 78-425

Section 8. Subsection (3) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, is reenacted and amended, and subsection (5) of said section is amended to read:

120.60 Licensing.--

(3) In proceedings for the issuance, denial, renewal or amendment of a license or approval

of a merger pursuant to Title XXXVI or Title XXXVII, Florida Statutes:

- (a)1. The Department of Banking and Finance shall have published in the Florida Administrative Weekly notice of the application within 21 days of receipt.
- 2. Within 21 days of publication of notice, any person may request a hearing, which upon request shall be conducted pursuant to s. 120.57 except that the Department of Banking and Finance shall by rule provide for participation by the general public; provided, however, that failure to request a hearing within 21 days of publication of notice shall constitute waiver of any right to a hearing.
- (b) Should a hearing be requested pursuant to s. 120.60(3)(a)2., the applicant or licensee shall publish at his own cost a notice of the hearing in a newspaper of general circulation in the area affected by the application. The Department of Banking and Finance may by rule specify the format and size of such notice.
- (c) Notwithstanding subsection (2) above, every application for license for a new bank, new trust company, new credit union, or new savings and loan association shall be approved or denied within 180 days after receipt of the original application or receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Any application for such a license not approved or denied within 180-day period or within 30 days after conclusion of a public hearing on the application, whichever is the latest, shall be deemed approved subject to the satisfactory completion of conditions required by statute as a prerequisite to license and approval of insurance of accounts by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation for a new bank, and by the Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation for a new savings and loan association.
- (5) No revocation, suspension, annulment, or withdrawal of any license is lawful unless, prior to the institution of agency proceedings, the agency has given reasonable notice by certified mail or actual service to the licensee of facts or conduct which warrant the intended action and the licensee has been given an opportunity to show that he has complied with all lawful requirements for the retention of the license. If the agency is unable to obtain service by certified mail or by actual service, constructive service may be made in the same manner as is provided in Chapter 49.

CHAPTER 79-142

Section 1. Subsections (4), (5), (6), (7), and (8) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, 1978 Supplement, are renumbered as subsections (5), (6), (7), (8), and (9), respectively; subsection (3) is renumbered and amended and a new subsection (3) is added to said section to read:

120.60 Licensing.--

(3) The provisions of subsection (2) notwithstanding, every application for a certificate of authority as required by s. 624.401 shall be approved or denied within 180 days after receipt of the original application. Any application for such a certificate of authority not approved or

denied within the 180-day period, or within 30 days after the conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, shall be deemed approved subject to the satisfactory completion of conditions required by statute as a prerequisite to license.

- (4)(3) In proceedings for the issuance, denial, renewal or amendment of a license or approval of a merger pursuant to title XXXVI or title XXXVII:
- (a)1. The Department of Banking and Finance shall have published in the Florida Administrative Weekly notice of the application within 21 days of receipt.
- 2. Within 21 days of publication of notice, any person may request a hearing, which upon request shall be conducted pursuant to s. 120.57 except that the Department of Banking and Finance shall by rule provide for participation by the general public; provided, however, that failure to request a hearing within 21 days of publication of notice shall constitute waiver of any right to a hearing.
- (b) Should a hearing be requested pursuant to subparagraph 2 of paragraph (a), the applicant or licensee shall publish at his own cost a notice of the hearing in a newspaper of general circulation in the area affected by the application. The Department of Banking and Finance may rule specify the format and size of such notice.
- (c) Notwithstanding subsection (2), every application for license for a new bank, new trust company, new credit union, or new savings and loan association, and every application for acquisition of majority control of a bank, trust company, or savings and loan association involving a foreign national, shall be approved or denied within 180 days after receipt of the original application or receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Any application for such a license or for acquisition of such control not approved or denied within the 180-day period or within 30 days after conclusion of a public hearing on the application, whichever is the latest, shall be deemed approved subject to the satisfactory completion of conditions required by statute as a prerequisite to license and approval of insurance of accounts by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, for a new bank, and by the Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation, for a new savings and loan association, or a new credit union by the appropriate insurer.

CHAPTER 79-299

Section 6. Subsection (6) of s. 120.60, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

120.60 Licensing.--

(6) If the agency finds that immediate serious danger to the public health, safety, or welfare requires emergency suspension, restriction or limitation of a license, it shall show compliance in its order with the requirements imposed by subsection 120.54(9) on agencies making emergency rules. Summary suspension, restriction or limitation may be ordered, but a formal suspension or revocation proceeding under this section shall also be promptly instituted

CHAPTER 81-180

Section 2. Subsection (6) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

120.60 Licensing.--

No revocation, suspension, annulment, or withdrawal of any license is lawful unless, prior to the entry of a final order, the agency has served, by personal service or certified mail, and administrative complaint which affords reasonable notice to the licensee of facts or conduct which warrant the intended action, and the licensee has been given an adequate opportunity to request a proceeding pursuant to s. 120.57 When personal service cannot be made and the certified mail notice is returned undelivered, the agency shall cause a short, simple notice to the licensee to be published once a week for 4 consecutive weeks in a newspaper published in the county of the licensee's last known address as it appears on the records of the board. If no newspaper is published in that county, the notice may be published in a newspaper of general circulation in that county. If the address is in some state other than this state or is in a foreign territory or country, the notice may be published in Leon County. prior to the institution of agency proceedings, the agency has given reasonable notice by certified mail or actual service to the licensee of facts or conduct which warrant the intended action and the licensee has been given an opportunity to show that he has complied with all lawful requirements for the retention of the license. If the agency is unable to obtain service by certified mail or by actual service, constructive service may be made in the same manner as is provided in chapter 49.

CHAPTER 84-203

Section 6. Subsections (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), and (9) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, are renumbered as subsections (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), and (10), respectively, and a new subsection (3) is added to said section to read:

120.60 Licensing.--

(3) Each applicant shall be given written notice either personally or by mail that the agency intends to grant or deny or has granted or denied the application for license. Unless waived, a copy of the notice shall be delivered or mailed to each party's attorney of record and to each person who has requested notice of agency action. Each notice shall inform the recipient of any administrative hearing or judicial review which may be available to him, shall indicate the procedure which must be followed, and shall state applicable time limits. The issuing agency shall certify that the notice was given. The certification shall show the time and date the notice was mailed or delivered and shall be filed with the agency clerk.

CHAPTER 84-265

Section 2. Subsection (6) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

120.60 Licensing .--

(6) No revocation, suspension, annulment, or withdrawal of any license is lawful unless, prior to the entry of a final order, the agency has served, by personal service or certified mail, and administrative complaint which affords reasonable notice to the licensee of facts or conduct which warrant the intended action, and unless the licensee has been given an adequate opportunity to request a proceeding pursuant to s. 120.57. When personal service cannot be made and the certified mail notice is returned undelivered, the agency shall cause a short, simple notice to the licensee to be published once a week for 4 consecutive weeks in a newspaper published in the county of the licensee's last known address as it appears on the records of the board. If no newspaper is published in that county, the notice may be published in a newspaper of general circulation in that county. If the address is in some state other than this state or is in a foreign territory or country, the notice may be published in Leon County. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, cancellation, suspension, or revocation of a driver's license shall be by personal delivery to the licensee or by first class mail as provided by s. 322.251.

CHAPTER 85-82

Section 1. Paragraph (c) of subsection (5) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, 1984 Supplement, is amended, and paragraph (d) is added to section 120.60, Florida Statutes, to read:

120.60 Licensing .--

- (5) In proceedings for the issuance, denial, renewal, or amendment of a license or approval of a merger pursuant to title XXXVIII:
- (c) Notwithstanding subsection (2), and except as provided in paragraph (d), every application for license for a new bank, new trust company, new credit union, or new savings and loan association, and every application for acquisition of majority control of a bank, trust company, or savings and loan association involving a foreign national, shall be approved or denied within 180 days after receipt of the original application or receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Any application for such a license or for acquisition of such control which is not approved or denied within the 180-day period or within 30 days after conclusion of a public hearing on the application, whichever is the latest, shall be deemed approved subject to the satisfactory completion of conditions required by statute as a prerequisite to license and approval of insurance of accounts for a new bank, a new savings and loan association, or a new credit union by the appropriate insurer.
- (d) In the case of every application for license to establish a new bank, trust company, or capital stock savings association in which a foreign national proposes to own or control 10 percent or more of any class of voting securities, and in the case of every application by a foreign

national for approval to acquire control of a bank, trust company or capital stock savings association, the Department of Banking and Finance shall request that a public hearing be conducted pursuant to s. 120.57. Notice of such hearing shall be published by the applicant as provided in paragraph (b). The failure of any such foreign national to appear personally at the hearing shall be grounds for denial of the application. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (2) and paragraph (c), every application involving a foreign national shall be approved or denied within 1 year after receipt of the original application of any timely requested additional information or the correction of any errors or omissions, or within 30 days after the conclusion of the public hearing on the application, whichever is later.

CHAPTER 90-51

Section 14. Paragraph (a) of subsection (5) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

120.60 Licensing.--

- (5) In proceedings for the issuance, denial, renewal, or amendment of a license or approval of a merger pursuant to title XXXVIII:
- (a)1. The Department of Banking and Finance shall have published in the Florida Administrative Weekly notice of the application within 21 days of receipt.
- 2. Within 21 days of publication of notice, any person may request a hearing, which upon request shall be conducted pursuant to s. 120.57 except that the Department of Banking and Finance shall be rule provide for participation by the general public; however, the failure to request a hearing within 21 days of publication of notice shall constitute waiver of any right to a hearing, except that the Department of Banking and Finance or an applicant may request a hearing at any time prior to the issuance of a final order.

CHAPTER 95-147

Section 762. Subsections (2) and (3) and paragraph (b) of subsection (5) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, are amended to read:

120.60 Licensing

(2) When an application for a license is made as required by law, the agency shall conduct the proceedings required with reasonable dispatch and with due regard to the rights and privileges of all affected parties or aggrieved persons. Within 30 days after receipt of an application for a license, the agency shall examine the application, notify the applicant of any apparent errors or omissions, and request any additional information the agency is permitted by law to require. Failure to correct an error or omission or to supply additional information shall not be grounds for denial of the license unless the agency timely notified the applicant within this

30-day period. The agency shall notify the applicant if the activity for which he seeks a license is sought is exempt from the licensing requirement and return any tendered application fee within 30 days after receipt of the original application or within 10 days after receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions. Every application for license shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of the original application or receipt of the timely requested additional information or correction of errors or omissions unless a shorter period of time for agency action is provided by law. The 90-day or shorter time period will be tolled by the initiation of a proceeding under s. 120.57 and will resume 10 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties. Any application for a license which is not approved or denied within the 90-day or shorter time period, within 15 days after conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, or within 45 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, whichever is latest, shall be deemed approved; and, subject to the satisfactory completion of an examination, if required as a prerequisite to licensure, the license shall be issued. The Public Service Commission, when issuing a license, and any other agency, if specifically exempted by law, shall be exempt from the time limitations within this subsection. Each agency, upon issuing or denying a license, shall state with particularity the grounds or basis for the issuance or denial of the license, except when issuance is a ministerial act. On denial of a license application on which there has been no hearing, the denying agency shall inform the applicant of any right to a hearing pursuant to s. 120.57.

- (3) Each applicant shall be given written notice either personally or by mail that the agency intends to grant or deny, or has granted or denied, the application for license. Unless waived, a copy of the notice shall be delivered or mailed to each party's attorney of record and to each person who has requested notice of agency action. Each notice shall inform the recipient of any administrative hearing or judicial review which may be available to him, shall indicate the procedure which must be followed, and shall state the applicable time limits. The issuing agency shall certify that the notice was given. The certification shall show the time and date the notice was mailed or delivered and shall be filed with the agency clerk.
- (5) In proceedings for the issuance, denial, renewal, or amendment of a license or approval of a merger pursuant to title XXXVIII:
- (b) Should a hearing be requested pursuant to subparagraph 2. of paragraph (a), the applicant or licensee shall publish at his <u>or her</u> own cost a notice of the hearing in a newspaper of general circulation in the area affected by the application. The Department of Banking and Finance may by rule specify the format and size of such notice.

CHAPTER 96-159

Section 1. It is the intent of the Legislature to consider the impact of any agency rulemaking required by proposed legislation and to determine whether the proposed legislation provides adequate and appropriate standards and guidelines to direct the agency's implementation of the proposed legislation.

Section 26. Section 120.60, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

(Substantial rewording of section. See s. 120.60, F.S., for present text.)

120.60. Licensing

- (1) Upon receipt of an application for a license, an agency shall examine the application and, within 30 days after such receipt, notify the applicant of any apparent errors or omissions and request any additional information the agency is permitted by law to require. An agency shall not deny a license for failure to correct an error or omission or to supply additional information unless the agency timely notified the applicant within this 30-day period. An application shall be considered complete upon receipt of all requested information and correction of any error or omission for which the applicant was timely notified or when the time for such notification has expired. Every application for a license shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of a completed application. The 90-day time period shall be tolled by the initiation of a proceeding under ss. 120.569 and 120.57 and shall resume 10 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, 10 days after an informal hearing pursuant to s. 120.57(2), or 45 days after either event if the agency head is a collegial body. The agency must approve any application for a license or for an examination required for licensure if the agency has not approved or denied the application within the time periods prescribed by this subsection.
- (2) If an applicant seeks a license for an activity that is exempt from licensure, the agency shall notify the applicant and return any tendered application fee within 30 days after receipt of the original application.
- (3) Each applicant shall be given written notice either personally or by mail that the agency intends to grant or deny, or has granted or denied, the application for license. Unless waived, a copy of the notice shall be delivered or mailed to each party's attorney of record and to each person who has requested notice of agency action. Each notice shall inform the recipient of the basis for the agency decision, shall inform the recipient of any administrative hearing pursuant to ss. 120.569 and 120.57 or judicial review pursuant to s. 120.68 which may be available, shall indicate the procedure which must be followed, and shall state the applicable time limits. The issuing agency shall certify the date the notice was mailed or delivered and the notice and the certification shall be filed with the agency clerk.
- (4) When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for the renewal of a license which does not automatically expire by statute, the existing license shall not expire until the application for renewal has been finally acted upon by the agency or, in case the application is denied or the terms of the license are limited, until the last day for seeking review of the agency order or a later date fixed by order of the reviewing court.
- (5) No revocation, suspension, annulment, or withdrawal of any license is lawful unless, prior to the entry of a final order, the agency has served, by personal service or certified mail, an administrative complaint which affords reasonable notice to the licensee of facts or conduct which warrant the intended action and unless the licensee has been given an adequate opportunity to request a proceeding pursuant to ss. 120.569 and 120.57. When personal service cannot be made and the certified mail notice is returned undelivered, the agency shall cause a short, plain

notice to the licensee to be published once each week for 4 consecutive weeks in a newspaper published in the county of the licensee's last known address as it appears on the records of the agency. If no newspaper is published in that county, the notice may be published in a newspaper of general circulation in that county. If the address is in some state other than this state or in a foreign territory or country, the notice may be published in Leon County.

- (6) If the agency finds that immediate serious danger to the public health, safety, or welfare requires emergency suspension, restriction, or limitation of a license, it shall show compliance in its order with the requirements imposed by s. 120.54(4) on agencies making emergency rules. Summary suspension, restriction, or limitation may be ordered, but a suspension or revocation proceeding pursuant to ss. 120.569 and 120.57 shall also be promptly instituted and acted upon.
- (7) No agency shall include as a condition of approval of any license any provision that is based upon a statement, policy, or guideline of another agency unless the statement, policy, or guideline is within the jurisdiction of the other agency. The other agency shall identify for the licensing agency the specific legal authority for each such statement, policy, or guideline. The licensing agency must provide the licensee with an opportunity to challenge the condition as invalid. If the licensing agency bases a condition of approval or denial of the license upon the statement, policy, or guideline of the other agency, any party to an administrative proceeding that arises from the approval with conditions or denial of the license may require the other agency to join as a party in determining the validity of the condition.

CHAPTER 96-410

Section 326. Subsection (1) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, as amended by Ch. 96-159, Laws of Florida, is amended to read:

120.60 Licensing

(1) Upon receipt of an application for a license, an agency shall examine the application and, within 30 days after such receipt, notify the applicant of any apparent errors or omissions and request any additional information the agency is permitted by law to require. An agency shall not deny a license for failure to correct an error or omission or to supply additional information unless the agency timely notified the applicant within this 30-day period. An application shall be considered complete upon receipt of all requested information and correction of any error or omission for which the applicant was timely notified or when the time for such notification has expired. Every application for a license shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of a completed application unless a shorter period of time for agency action is provided by law. The 90-day time period shall be tolled by the initiation of a proceeding under ss. 120.569 and 120.57. An application for a license must be approved or denied within the 90 day or shorter time period, within 15 days after the conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, or within 45 days after a recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, whichever is later and shall resume 10 days after the recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, 10 days after an informal hearing pursuant to s. 120.57(2), or 45 days after either event if the agency head is a collegial body. The agency must approve any application for a license or for an

examination required for licensure if the agency has not approved or denied the application within the time periods prescribed by this subsection.

CHAPTER 97-176

Committee Substitute for Senate Bill No. 1066

Section 12. Subsections (3) and (6) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, 1996 Supplement, are amended to read:

120.60 Licensing.—

- (3) Each applicant shall be given written notice either personally or by mail that the agency intends to grant or deny, or has granted or denied, the application for license. The notice must state with particularity the grounds or basis for the issuance or denial of the license, except when issuance is a ministerial act. Unless waived, a copy of the notice shall be delivered or mailed to each party's attorney of record and to each person who has requested notice of agency action. Each notice shall inform the recipient of the basis for the agency decision, shall inform the recipient of any administrative hearing pursuant to ss. 120.569 and 120.57 or judicial review pursuant to s. 120.68 which may be available, shall indicate the procedure which must be followed, and shall state the applicable time limits. The issuing agency shall certify the date the notice was mailed or delivered, and the notice and the certification shall be filed with the agency clerk.
- (6) If the agency finds that immediate serious danger to the public health, safety, or welfare requires emergency suspension, restriction, or limitation of a license, the agency may take such action by any procedure that is fair under the circumstances if:
- (a) The procedure provides at least the same procedural protection as is given by other statutes, the State Constitution, or the United States Constitution;
- (b) The agency takes only that action necessary to protect the public interest under the emergency procedure; and
- (c) The agency states in writing at the time of, or prior to, its action the specific facts and reasons for finding an immediate danger to the public health, safety, or welfare and its reasons for concluding that the procedure used is fair under the circumstances. The agency's findings of immediate danger, necessity, and procedural fairness are judicially reviewable.—it shall show compliance in its order with the requirements imposed by s. 120.54(4) on agencies making emergency rules. Summary suspension, restriction, or limitation may be ordered, but a suspension or revocation proceeding pursuant to ss. 120.569 and 120.57 shall also be promptly instituted and acted upon.

CHAPTER 2003-94

Committee Substitute for Committee Substitute for Senate Bill No. 1584

Section 7. Subsection (1) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

120.60 Licensing.—

(1) Upon receipt of an application for a license, an agency shall examine the application and, within 30 days after such receipt, notify the applicant of any apparent errors or omissions and request any additional information the agency is permitted by law to require. An agency shall not deny a license for failure to correct an error or omission or to supply additional information unless the agency timely notified the applicant within this 30-day period. An application shall be considered complete upon receipt of all requested information and correction of any error or omission for which the applicant was timely notified or when the time for such notification has expired. Every application for a license shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of a completed application unless a shorter period of time for agency action is provided by law. The 90-day time period shall be tolled by the initiation of a proceeding under ss. 120.569 and 120.57. Any An application for a license that is not must be approved or denied within the 90day or shorter time period, within 15 days after the conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, or within 45 days after a recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, whichever action and timeframe is latest and applicable, is considered approved unless the recommended order recommends that the agency deny the license. Subject to the satisfactory completion of an examination if required as a prerequisite to licensure, any license that is considered approved shall be issued and may include such reasonable conditions as are authorized by law. Any applicant for licensure seeking to claim licensure by default under this subsection shall notify the agency clerk of the licensing agency, in writing, of the intent to rely upon the default license provision of this subsection, and shall not take any action based upon the default license until after receipt of such notice by the agency clerk later. The agency must approve any application for a license or for an examination required for licensure if the agency has not approved or denied the application within the time periods prescribed by this subsection.

CHAPTER 2010-279

Council Substitute for Council Substitute for House Bill No. 1565

Section 4. Subsections (1) and (3) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, are amended to read:

120.60 Licensing.—

(1) Upon receipt of an application for a license application, an agency shall examine the application and, within 30 days after such receipt, notify the applicant of any apparent errors or omissions and request any additional information the agency is permitted by law to require. An agency may shall not deny a license for failure to correct an error or omission or to supply

additional information unless the agency timely notified the applicant within this 30-day period. The agency may establish by rule the time period for submitting any additional information requested by the agency. For good cause shown, the agency shall grant a request for an extension of time for submitting the additional information. If the applicant believes the agency's request for additional information is not authorized by law or rule, the agency, at the applicant's request, shall proceed to process the application. An application is shall be considered complete upon receipt of all requested information and correction of any error or omission for which the applicant was timely notified or when the time for such notification has expired. An Every application for a license must shall be approved or denied within 90 days after receipt of a completed application unless a shorter period of time for agency action is provided by law. The 90-day time period is shall be tolled by the initiation of a proceeding under ss. 120.569 and 120.57. Any application for a license which that is not approved or denied within the 90-day or shorter time period, within 15 days after conclusion of a public hearing held on the application, or within 45 days after a recommended order is submitted to the agency and the parties, whichever action and timeframe is latest and applicable, is considered approved unless the recommended order recommends that the agency deny the license. Subject to the satisfactory completion of an examination if required as a prerequisite to licensure, any license that is considered approved shall be issued and may include such reasonable conditions as are authorized by law. Any applicant for licensure seeking to claim licensure by default under this subsection shall notify the agency clerk of the licensing agency, in writing, of the intent to rely upon the default license provision of this subsection, and may shall not take any action based upon the default license until after receipt of such notice by the agency clerk.

(3) Each applicant shall be given written notice, either personally or by mail, that the agency intends to grant or deny, or has granted or denied, the application for license. The notice must state with particularity the grounds or basis for the issuance or denial of the license, except when issuance is a ministerial act. Unless waived, a copy of the notice shall be delivered or mailed to each party's attorney of record and to each person who has <u>made a written request for requested</u> notice of agency action. Each notice <u>must shall</u> inform the recipient of the basis for the agency decision, <u>shall</u> inform the recipient of any administrative hearing pursuant to ss. 120.569 and 120.57 or judicial review pursuant to s. 120.68 which may be available, <u>shall</u> indicate the procedure <u>that which</u> must be followed, and <u>shall</u> state the applicable time limits. The issuing agency shall certify the date the notice was mailed or delivered, and the notice and the certification <u>must shall</u> be filed with the agency clerk.

Section 5. This act shall take effect upon becoming a law.

Vetoed by the Governor May 28, 2010.

Passed the House over the veto November 16, 2010.

Passed the Senate over the veto November 16, 2010.

Filed in Office Secretary of State November 16, 2010.

CHAPTER 2012-212

Committee Substitute for Committee Substitute for House Bill No. 937

Section 10. Subsection (5) of section 120.60, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

120.60 Licensing.—

(5) No revocation, suspension, annulment, or withdrawal of any license is lawful unless, prior to the entry of a final order, the agency has served, by personal service or certified mail, an administrative complaint which affords reasonable notice to the licensee of facts or conduct which warrant the intended action and unless the licensee has been given an adequate opportunity to request a proceeding pursuant to ss. 120.569 and 120.57. When personal service cannot be made and the certified mail notice is returned undelivered, the agency shall cause a short, plain notice to the licensee to be published once each week for 4 consecutive weeks in a newspaper published in the county of the licensee's last known address as it appears on the records of the agency. If no newspaper is published in that county, the notice may be published in a newspaper of general circulation in that county. If the address is in some state other than this state or in a foreign territory or country, the notice may be published in Leon County.